Naked Religion

As I stated in my last post I am a Christian. This may come as a surprise to you, especially since much of the nudist community has shunned religion. The shunning is unfortunately mutual in most circumstances.

But, just like politics, nudists come from many religious backgrounds. Personally, I come from a very conservative sect of Christianity.

How does this mesh with my naturism?

Honestly, I don’t tell people at church about my naked tendencies. For me it’s a matter of conscience where for many of them it’s a black and white matter of morality. Since nudity is so tied to illicit sex in our culture it would be potentially disastrous to tell my fellow believers about my position.

So what do I do to promote the cause of nudism to others who share my religion?

For one, I write this blog. It is my hope that other Christians will read this and understand that nudity is not an inherently sinful thing. And I hope that some of the anti-Christians that make up a portion of the naturist population will read this and understand that Christianity is not the enemy.

For another, I promote nudist friendly views whenever the topic of nudity comes up, whether it be regarding Adam and Eve or whether it be about modern subjects like nude art or fashion. I try to convince others that the Bible doesn’t have a negative view of the human body. I try to demonstrate through Scripture that our bodies are actually “very good” and created in the image of God, even if they are tainted by sin.

As I said, I am very conservative in matters of faith. I believe the Bible is the inerrant, infallible, and inspired word of God and is the final authority on all matters in this life and the next. This means the Bible either has to agree with my choices or remain silent and allow my conscience to decide.

From all that I have read, the Bible never commands that we wear clothes, unless in specific ceremonial circumstances. It commands that we be modest, but modesty is not necessarily covering everything. Modesty is simply dressing appropriately for the situation.

To me, the only situations in which it is necessary to be dressed is around those who might be offended by nudity. Those circumstances are admittedly the predominant ones in our lives, thus clothing is necessary for most situations if we are to be good witnesses for Christ.

Of course, there are certain times when I break the rules a little to make a point. I was chastised by a Muslim for a picture I posted. It seems in his religion the body is to be covered at all times. My photo depicting a nude body was therefore offensive to him and he told me such. I merely asked him why his god was so offended by his own creation. I was not going to remove a picture to please someone who had such a low view of the body. He didn’t argue my points, he just said that Allah expects shame.

Typically, I avoid the offensive route. There is no need to stir up strife over such a secondary matter. The primary matter that Christians should all agree on is the sinfulness of mankind and its need for a savior, that is Jesus. Whether or not I can be nude in the privacy of my property, the not-so-privacy of the beach, or in the streets of the world is a matter of liberty. However, not everyone sees it that way. But rather then fight them, I prefer to avoid the subject altogether, unless it is brought up in other ways.

To me, keeping peace with all men is more important than pushing an agenda.

Xero Shoes - Barefoot Running Sandals

Follow me on Instagram!

https://www.instagram.com/theorthodoxnudist/

If you have enjoyed my posts, crypto tips are always welcome:

BTC: 12JcdCSwT4F8qauwHXBnuenMtiL9BvVnyV

ETH: 0x41046A3E93250321811Ae8A58615CAfCF0e447c4

LTC: LfDHwstMZt84ESeAHT9dyLH8kUKiJCH23K

DOGE from ETH: 0x41046A3E93250321811Ae8A58615CAfCF0e447c4

11 comments

  1. The human body is not sinful or shameful. Sin and shame are not functions of our outsides, they are function of what’s inside. Unfortunately, religious beliefs can be heavily rooted in control, and controlling ones body is an ultimate in such control. To not allow those beliefs to have that control over you may unfortunately be equated to by others as shunning your (their) beliefs. It is tough, and you are wise to advocate as quietly as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Praise God, being a Christian doesn’t stop me enjoying the freedom of living as a naturist. I charismatic Christian ( once a Muslim) and love the Lord with all my heart. I go to the Christian naturist fellowship (last Sunday every month) at the naturist foundation. love it.

    Like

  3. ‘To me, keeping peace with all men is more important than pushing an agenda.’

    You have my vote.

    Yours in the buff,

    JS

    Like

  4. Most Christians who would argue the textile point of view would claim that the Bible supports their beliefs based on: 1. Adam and Eve clothed by God after the fall. 2. References to clothing given by of commanded by God on earth and in Heaven. 3. Incidental references to people condemned or criticized for behavior done while nude or nearly nude. 4. Admonitions to not cause others to lust, as well as to follow the things of the Spirit and not those of the flesh. These arguments are addressed by the author of the Fig Leaf Forum who is no longer publishing new material but the past material is still available on the web.

    Like

Leave a comment